Well Here I Go! (again)

Writing has  always been something I have found daunting, especially as I am dyslexic (who chooses a word like that for people who can’t spell). Even Now I can see four zigzagging red underlines and two i’s which will be need to be changed to I’s before I post this. I scrapped my GCSE English with a C and didn’t even attempt English Literature, spending the first year of college avoiding writing as much as possible and not even being able to write a dairy because I would never be able to read those little squiggles in a couple of weeks, so what was the point?

But things started to change back in November, nine months ago minus two days I started volunteering as an administrator for a local childrens charity, which definitely throw me in writing again; suddenly I was responding to emails and writing persuasive letters asking for founding or support and it was nothing like how we had been taught at school. I began by getting my boss (runs the charity) to check everything before it went out but gradually built up the confidence to do it my self (unless it’s important, it’s not worth the risk). Also one of my jobs was to basically be in charge of the social media side of things, this was great it was like ‘professional teenage procrastinating’ but for all the right reasons and I kinda fall in love with the impact social media can have, getting excited every time a tweet got favorited or re-tweeted.

So this leads me onto February where social media offered me a new way to keep a dairy; no writing involved and that was YouTube and my channel  where I upload sporadically it’s fair to say, but I am trying to change that now college is over. I really love being able to post content on my channel with no rules it can be what ever it wants and I don’t have to conform to one ‘type’ of vlogger because I don’t really think there are any. There is no denying that my YouTube channel currently has only four subscribers but that doesn’t matter to me because my videos are as much for me as they are anyone else.

So any way for someone who hated writing being told you had to keep a journal throughout the process of my final major project at college gave me a bit of an idea: to keep a blog. As much as the idea of writing long posts explaining my work concerned me I found the same peace as I did with YouTube, it was mine. I had some guide line as it was graded work but besides that I could do with it whatever I liked and I even produced some time lapse videos of my work to support it, it was really kind of fun as college work goes.

But this Monday I handed in my work and set the link for that blog to my teacher and it was all over. And now after just three days here I am again writing and loving it and hoping to do much more on this my own personal blog.

One thought on “Well Here I Go! (again)

Leave a comment